Firozpur – Badal versus defector in Akali bastion

Cogencis, Thursday, May 16

By Leroy Leo

NEW DELHI – Firozpur has been sending candidates from the Shiromani Akali Dal to the Lok Sabha since 1998. But it may not be such a safe seat this time, for one of the party's own has crossed over to the other camp.

Sher Singh Ghubaya, who won the past two elections, is a Congress candidate this time and takes on 

Akali Dal's Sukhbir Singh Badal, the former deputy chief minister of Punjab. 
Ghubaya's candidature strengthens Congress chances of winning the seat for the first time since the 1984 election as he hails from the Rai Sikh community.
The community is the region's largest electorate, which according to reports, usually votes for a common candidate.
Ghubaya has been campaigning hard in the villages and towns based on assembly constituencies in the Firozpur region, while Sukhbir Singh Badal, son of former chief minister Prakash Singh Badal, has been projecting himself as the next chief minister of Punjab.

The history between the two candidates goes back to 2009, when Ghubaya vacated his Jalalabad assembly seat to allow Badal to get elected and become Punjab's deputy chief minister in his father's government.
In return, Ghubaya was given a ticket for the Lok Sabha elections, which he eventually won.
Since then, the relationship between Ghubaya and his party has deteriorated.
Ghubaya's defection was in the making for the last two years, when his son Davinder Ghubaya joined the Congress to successfully contest the state elections from Fazilka .
Akali Dal were enraged when the elder Ghubaya, after a sleazy video of his started circulating, held a press conference with Congress MP Ravneet Singh Bittu alleging that his party chief Badal released the "fake video" to "politically murder him".
However, Ghubaya's candidature has reportedly caused dissent within the Congress, with several senior leaders from Punjab protesting.
Another candidate in the fray is Harjinder Singh Kaka Sran from the Aam Aadmi Party.
The Arvind Kejriwal-led party came third in the seat in the 2014 elections, with a 10.3% vote share.
In 2014, the Akali Dal won 44.1% of the vote share, while Congress, which had fielded current state chief Sunil Kumar Jakhar, garnered 41.3%.
Firozpur votes for the Lok Sabha on Sunday.
Below are the details of the electoral outcome in the constituency in the 2014 General Elections:
Total electorate: 1,522,111
Total votes polled: 1,105,412
Voter turnout: 72.62%





Sher Singh Ghubaya




Sunil Jakhar




Satnam Paul Kamboj




Edited by Arshad Hussain

Other News


CPI(M) sole challenger to Trinamool in Jadavpur

The CPI(M), which retains much of its vote bank in the urban areas of Jadavpur, hopes to secure enough support in its erstwhile rural bastions to give itself a chance. It is counting on increased security presence to prevent re-runs of alleged booth capturing. 


Varanasi – Modi is object of holy city’s affection

Five years on, Modi appears to be far more self-assured in Varanasi and has opted not to contest from a second “safe” seat, while the opposition appears to have discarded any real hope of wresting the constituency from the Prime Minister.


Poll euphoria may not be shot in arm for equities

The Indian economy may not be able to withstand higher inflation as it is already reeling under the impact of low credit availability for the past nine months, which has led to a slowdown in real-estate, non-banking finance and housing companies.